Legends of Runeterra: Getting Started Guide For Newbies

mrmostal 2/3/2020

Legends of Runeterra, the latest game of Riot Games, is basically a game, let's learn together!

As of January 24, 2020, the open beta process of Legends of Runeterra, a card game set in the Runeterra universe, started. After a short closed beta process, we welcome you to the start guide for the game, which is offered to the players.


The cards are divided into zones according to their place in the universe. When creating a deck of cards, you can choose cards from up to two different regions. Regions are as follows:

Demacia: Demacia deck, which includes champions such as Garen, Lux, Lucian, consists of strong and durable units, but it does not have much move to surprise the opponent.

Freljord: Freljord deck with champions like Braum, Tryndamere is a slowly winning deck. Its cards are more durable but weaker than Demacia deck.

Noxus: It's a berserker deck. A region for direct damage.

Ionia: The Ionia deck, which is weak in the mutual struggle, has a style of play aimed to surprise the opponent with spells.

Piltover and Zaun: A deck to draw cards fast and free the cards in hand. By sacrificing the cards in his hand, he can draw new cards or damage them.

Shadow Islands (Shadow Isles): A deck full of death. If you are going to play with a deck of cards of this region, you may have to kill and kill your own characters when necessary.

Tour mechanics

At the beginning of each round, both players draw a card. One of the players is attacking, the other is defending and this situation reverses each round. The priority is attacking. If he wants, he can attack with the cards he has already put on the ground or play a new card. If the card is played, the turn passes to the opponent. One round consists of three stages in total. Pre-attack card playing phase, attack phase and post-attack card playing phase.

Health and Mana

It has to be a winner of the game. This winner is also protecting your own tiny Nexus and destroying the opponent's tiny Nexus. You can be the winner of the game by bringing Nexus, which has 20 health at the beginning of the game, by attacking with your champions or spells, to zero or less thousand lives. Cheers.

The Mana system uses a system similar to most games. You have a meaning at the beginning of the game, each round of your mana is increasing and renewed. We can go up to ten mana in the game. In addition to the normal mana, there is also what we call spell mana. These spell manas, which can accumulate up to 3 loads, are filled with mana that you did not use from the previous round and can only be used to play magic cards.

Card Types

Champion cards: They are the champions we know from the valley. Braum, Elise, Lucian etc. Unlike other cards, these cards get stronger by leveling up when you meet a certain condition. For example, for Darius to level up, the opponent Nexus must be 10 lives or less.

Follower cards: Other fighting cards that are not familiar from the valley. Each of them has its own feature and compatibility with different cards. Unlike champions, these cards cannot level up.

Magic cards: As you can see, these magic cards, which you can play to surprise the opponent and change the course of the game, are divided into three types.

Burst: You can use these kinds of magic cards at every stage of the game and your opponent will not have any chance to respond.

Fast: Such cards can also be used at the desired stage of the game. The difference from burst cards gives the opponent an opportunity to respond.

Slow: Slow cards cannot be used during the battle phase. They can be used either before the war or after the war. It also gives a chance to respond to the opponent, just like Fast cards.

Attack and Defense

As we mentioned in the article, you need to reset the opponent's Nexus to win the game. You do this basically by attacking with the cards you have revealed while you are in the attack sequence. Each card has a power and a life bar. The power bar determines how much damage you will hit and does not change unless it is played on. Can shows how much damage he can take in total and falls in direct proportion to the strength of the other side.

If the opponent does not put a card in front of your card, you attack Nexus directly and hit as much damage as your card. If he put a card, these two characters attack each other in the same logic. It is up to you to defend your Nexus when the tour ends and you have the chance to attack.


Some of the Legends of Runeterra cards come with a feature. This feature is either passive, that is, it stays regularly with the character, or results from a trigger. The features are as follows:

Passive Features:

Elusive: During attack, a normal unit cannot block cards with this feature. The card you are going to face must also have the Elusive feature.

Challenger: Normally, the defender decides who will encounter who during an attack. In other words, the chance to determine which character will meet with which card is at the defender. Challenger units can decide which unit will be faced during the attack. It can force one of the played characters to face itself.

Ephemeral: These cards are disposable. A character who lives during a tour comes and disappears at the end of the tour.

Regerenation: If characters with this feature do not die during an attack or defense, they will recover their lost life at the end of the round.

Barrier: This feature allows the character to ignore the first damage it takes.

Tough: A feature that ignores one of the damage taken. If you encounter a character that hits you 3, you get 2 damage.

Fearsome: To counteract the attacks of opponents with Fearsome, you must place a card with 3 or more powers. Other characters cannot face Fearsome units in defense.

Cant Block: These cards, which are generally higher in strength, cannot be used in defense.

Life Steal: High School Steal units heal their Nexus as much as they deal damage.

Quick Attack: Units with this feature hit the opponent first during the attack. In other words, if he is strong enough to kill his opponent, he does not receive return damage.

Overwhelm: If you prevent a character's attack in the game, that character cannot damage Nexus. It doesn't matter how strong you are. Nexus will not take damage if you put a live character against a card with 9 attack power. Overwhelm units hit Nexus the higher their attack power is than their opponent's health. For example, if you put 2 live characters in front of a unit with 4 Attack power Overwhelm, your Nexus will take 2 damage.

Trigger-operated features:

Attack: The feature is activated when the character attacks any.

Nexus Attack: The feature takes over if the character can hit Nexus.

Last Breath: When the character dies, the feature takes over.

Play: When the character is put into the game, the feature is activated.

Start of Round: As long as you stay in the game, the feature per turn is activated.

Allegiance: If the card played at the top of your deck is from the same region, the feature is activated.